Past Recipients

2016: Martti Ahtisaari

Mr. Ahtisaari was elected President of the Republic of Finland in February 1994 and held office until February 2000.  Today, Mr. Ahtisaari serves as the Chairman of the Board of the Crisis Management Initiative, an NGO he founded in 2000 to continue his work in international peace mediation and conflict resolution.  Mr. Ahtisaari was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for 2008 “for his great efforts, on several continents and over more than three decades, to resolve international conflicts.”  His efforts included major contributions to the Namibia independence process from 1989-90 and arbitration in Kosovo in 1999 and 2005-07 (during which time he served as the Special Envoy of the Secretary-General of the United Nations for the future status process for Kosovo).  In 2005, Mr. Ahtisaari facilitated the peace process between the Government of Indonesia and the Free Aceh Movement, ending the three-decade long conflict.

Mr. Ahtisaari has committed his career to foreign affairs, diplomacy and conflict resolution.  He worked on issues of international development and peacemaking for decades in various positions with both the Finnish Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the United Nations.  Mr. Ahtisaari’s contributions to conflict resolution and international diplomacy span decades and continents.  For his considerable impact on foreign affairs and peacemaking, the Journal is pleased to present the 42nd Wolfgang Friedmann Award to President Martti Ahtisaari.


2015: Lori Fisler Damrosch

2014: Aryeh Neier
2013: Dr. Shirin Ebadi
2012: M. Cherif Bassiouni
2011: George J. Mitchell
2010: Jerome A. Cohen
2009: James Crawford
2008: Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade
2007: Justice Sandra Day O’Connor
2007: Antonio Cassese
2006: Ian Brownlie
2005: Richard N. Gardner
2004: Giuliano Amato
2003: Harold Hongju Koh
2002: Hans Blix
2001: Louise Arbour
2000: Hon. Gabrielle Kirk McDonald
1999: Thomas Franck
1998: Stephen M. Schwebel
1997: Conrad K. Harper
1996: James A. Baker III
1995: Boutros Boutros-Ghali
1994: Max M. Kampelman
1993: Michael H. Posner
1992: John J. Jackson
1991: Sen. Daniel Patrick Moynihan
1990: John N. Hazard
1989: Thomas Buergenthal
1988: John R. Stevenson
1987: Keith Highet
1986: Louis Henkin
1985: Hon. Rosalyn Higgins
1984: Tommy Koh
1983: Oscar Schachter
1982: Maxwell Cohen
1981: Telford Taylor
1980: Alona E. Evans
1979: Hardy C. Dillard
1978: Willis M Reese
1977: Arthur H. Dean
1976: Oliver S. Lissitzyn
1975: Philip C. Jessup